Wednesday, January 16, 2013

Inauguration Coverage by Outlet

Here's a rundown of coverage planned by the major television networks for President Obama's Second Inaugural scheduled for Monday, January 21st with the swearing in to take just before noon. (The official inauguration takes place on January 20th in a private ceremony, per the U.S. Constitution, but because it is a Sunday, the pomp and circumstance is put off until the next day.)

Note: This post will be updated as CBS and NBC/MSNBC announce their plans.

ABC - On Monday ABC’s live broadcast coverage will begin at 7:00 a.m., ET / 4:00 a.m., PT with a special two and half hour edition of “Good Morning America” co-anchored by George Stephanopoulos in Washington D.C. Stephanopoulos will be joined in the nation’s capital by Josh Elliott.

At 9:30 a.m., ET / 6:30 a.m., PT Diane Sawyer and George Stephanopoulos will anchor special coverage from the Newseum on PennsylvaniaAvenue. Coverage will include all events from the swearing-in ceremony and Obama’s Inaugural Address to the Inaugural Procession as well as reaction from around the nation. Plus, Sawyer and Stephanopoulos will speak former Secretary of State Colin Powell.

Coverage will continue on Monday evening with a special edition of “World News with Diane Sawyer” from the Newseum at 6:30 p.m., ET. A special edition of “Nightline” will provide the whole picture looking back on the events of the day and will take viewers inside the Inaugural Balls. “Nightline” airs at 12:35 a.m., ET.

CBSCBS EVENING NEWS Anchor and Managing Editor Scott Pelley will lead CBS News’ live, comprehensive and multi-platform coverage of the Inauguration, including the official swearing on Sunday, Jan. 20.  Inauguration Day coverage will be broadcast on Monday, Jan. 21 (7:00 AM-4:00 PM, ET).

Inauguration Day coverage starts with an extended three-hour CBS THIS MORNING (7:00-10:00 AM, ET) co-hosted by Charlie Rose, Gayle King and Norah O’Donnell from the National Mall. Immediately following that, Pelley will begin anchoring CBS News’ day-long Inauguration broadcast (10:00 AM-4:00 PM, ET). He will be joined on-site by Chief Washington Correspondent and FACE THE NATION Anchor Bob Schieffer and O’Donnell from the National Mall. Contributing to the coverage will be Chief White House Correspondent Major Garrett,Wyatt Andrews, Sharyl Attkisson, Margaret Brennan, Jan Crawford, John Dickerson, John Miller,Byron Pitts, Bill Plante and Chip Reid. Pelley also will anchor the CBS EVENING NEWS (6:30-7:00PM, ET/PT) from Washington, D.C.

CNBC - Live coverage on Monday at 11am ET. The special will be anchored from Washington, D.C. by CNBC's Tyler Mathisen and Chief Washington Correspondent John Harwood along with live reports from CNBC's Hampton Pearson.

CNN - CNN's coverage will span two days; first, the official oath of office in a private ceremony, then Monday's public ceremony at the U.S. Capitol Building. Both days begin official coverage at 9 am ET.

Fox News Channel - Fox News Channel live coverage of the private ceremony will begin at 10 a.m. ET on Sunday, Jan. 20. It will cover the public event on Monday from 11 a.m.-3 p.m. ET and 9-10 p.m. ET live from Washington.

MSNBC -Sunday, January 20 - “Up w/ Chris Hayes” (8:00 – 10:00 a.m. ET) and “Melissa Harris-Perry; (10:00 a.m. - noon) will originate from Washington, DC.

NBC News Chief White House Correspondent and host of MSNBC’s “The Daily Rundown” will anchor coverage of the private swearing in of the President beginning at 11:50 a.m. ET. Alex Witt picks up with “Weekends with Alex Witt” beginning at 12:30 p.m. ET.

Monday, January 21 - “Way Too Early” and an extended "Morning Joe" will be live from The Dubliner from 5:30-10:00 a.m. ET, with hosts Joe Scarborough, Mika Brzezinski and Willie Geist. Guests will include former Secretary of State Colin Powell, Sen. Tim Kaine, David Axelrod, Maureen Dowd, Mike Barnicle, Michael Steele and Alex Wagner. The broadcast is open to the public. More information can be found here:

MSNBC Inauguration Day coverage will continue live from 10:00 a.m. – 4:00 p.m. ET hosted by Rachel Maddow and Chris Matthews with Lawrence O’Donnell, Ed Schultz and Rev. Al Sharpton from Washington, DC. Contributors will include Melissa Harris-Perry, Chris Hayes, Joy-Ann Reid, Telemundo’s Jose Diaz-Balart, Steve Schmidt, Ed Rendell, Howard Fineman, Michael Steele, Jon Meacham, Jonathan Alter, Michael Eric Dyson, and Maria Teresa Kumar among others. Correspondents will include Chuck Todd from the White House and the White House parade reviewing stand; Andrea Mitchell and Luke Russert from the Capitol; Alex Witt, Tamron Hall, and Chris Jansing from the Pennsylvania Avenue parade route; and Peter Alexander and Kristen Welker from the White House.

NBC - NBC's coverage begins with the Today show and goes on throughout the evening.

“TODAY” (7:00am - 10:00am ET) - Matt Lauer, Savannah Guthrie, Natalie Morales, Al Roker, and Willie Geist will lead a special edition of “Today” live from Washington, DC.

NBC News Special Report (10:00am - approx. 4:00pm ET) - Brian Williams will anchor continuing special coverage from Capitol Hill, joined by David Gregory and Savannah Guthrie.

Other contributors will include: Tom Brokaw; Chuck Todd from the White House and the White House parade reviewing stand; Lester Holt, Andrea Mitchell, Kelly O’Donnell, Luke Russert, and Ron Mott at the Capitol; Natalie Morales, Willie Geist, Al Roker, Erica Hill, and Tamron Hall along the Pennsylvania Avenue parade route; Craig Melvin on the National Mall; Peter Alexander and Kristen Welker at the White House; and Richard Engel. Presidential historians Doris Kearns Goodwin and Michael Beschloss will join the coverage as well.

“NBC Nightly News” (6:30pm - 7:30pm ET) - Brian Williams will anchor an expanded one-hour broadcast live from Washington, DC.

PBS - PBS will broadcast a special daytime edition of NewsHour Monday to cover President Obama's second inauguration. Gwen Ifill and Judy Woodruff will anchor beginning at 11 a.m. ET. They will be joined by syndicated columnist Mark Shields and New York Times columnist David Brooks, as well as presidential historians Richard Norton Smith, Beverly Gage and Anette Gordon-Reed.

No comments:

Post a Comment